Do’s and dont’s when you finally have your period – Irregular period.

TTC journey while you are dealing with irregular periods is tough. You often find yourself wondering if another missed period means you are pregnant. Chances are it just means your PCOS is reminding you that its still around and that you need to take better care of your body but when you finally have that period you can’t help but celebrate it because it means at least you are one step closer to having that baby. May be this time post period I will track my ovulation better I tell myself. Try to do things differently? But, this celebration is short lived. The period also means that I’m going to work hard for another month on myself and my body in order to have a baby. This is my story. If you don’t know what is going on with me, long story short – We’ve been trying to have a baby on and off for the last two years but PCOS and irregular periods is making my life hard and I keep going off instead of just pushing myself to keep going. So, here’s a post to all the ladies who are in the similar boat.

Word of advice: I know that there’s nothing more difficult during these testing times but the reason I write this is for myself and for a lot of people who need that tiny little motivation to make one better choice today than they normally would when they’re on their period. Again, I’m not an expert and I don’t have all my shit together but I’ve made enough mistakes and learnt enough lessons in the last 2 years to write a tiny book that could explain all the things you shouldn’t do when you are trying to conceive. So, to remind myself and teach myself better I’m going to take this one step at a time.

Do’s:

  1. Eat right – Eat at home if you can and if you can’t make sure you make better choices than you usually do. Your body is craving all the wrong things right now and I understand that you are so tired that you want to pick up the phone or find Uber to deliver you either a piping hot pizza or Chinese food but know that these options even though are good for a day only cause excess bloating and water retention during this time. (The reason I say this is because every single time I am on my period I tell myself I deserve that pizza but what follows is a week of recovery and trying to get myself and my body to feel better because that is the effect that Junk food has on my body).
  2. Eat protein rich food – I have often noticed that with low energy level and cravings that surround your thoughts the best thing to do is indulge in food that is rich in protein. What it does is suppresses your cravings and keeps you full. So, even if you do manage to sneak junk food in you’ll notice that you will eat a lot less than you normally would.
  3. Choose warm drinks instead of frozen or cold drinks. This technique is followed by Asians and if you read my previous post you’ll understand why you should choose warm/hot drinks over frozen.
  4. Eat your greens – My periods are so irregular I often notice that by the end of it my face starts to look very pale (borderline Anemic) and so the last few times I’ve tried to make sure I eat spinach or other greens throughout the week to make sure the crash post period is a little smoother and this is something I suggest everyone I know. The more greens, the better. Add them to your smoothies, add them to soups, Saute them. Bake them. Add them to eggs. Google will help you find a million ways you could incorporate Greens into your diet.
  5. Multivitamins – If you are not one to get your Multivitamins in the tablets or gummies form try and research all the other ways you could get your vitamin intake from. Oranges for Vitamin C. Avocados for some healthy fat.
  6. Soy milk – plenty of research shows how Soy milk benefits women who go through insane mood swings during their cycles. Even though I don’t suggest you to go overboard with this I’d say give it a try and see if you feel better?
  7. Drink plenty of water. Your body starts to smell. This is a gross subject for a lot of people. No amount of perfume or showering can mask that odor sometimes. Use this time to cleanse your body by drinking water. Preferably warm water. Also, along with drinking water try adding a few drops of essential oil or using dead sea salt when you have a hot bath to relieve toxins from your body.
  8. Avoid sugar if you can. There is a lot of research around how sugar has fungus causing properties. It not only breeds fungus in your body but also causes you to smell more than you already do. Find natural products. Choose Grapes and Bananas over sweets and ice cream.
  9. Get some sun – Most cultures believe that staying indoors and getting plenty of rest is the best thing to do during this time. As much as I understand this I also think a little early morning Sun helps you not only get Vitamin D for the day but helps you with your bones and aches in your body.
  10. Hot pack – Hot packs help you relax but if you cant find one don’t fret. Grab a blow drier and blow some hot air on the parts that ache or if you don’t like the feeling of hot air directly on you get an old cloth and blow the air on it for a while and press the cloth on your body.

Here are some of the remedies that I could think of or that I’m currently trying to follow as it is the third day of my period. I am going to stay positive and cleanse my body as I go through time instead of taking this time to feed my body with crap. It is okay to indulge in things you like once in a while but lets not take that as a failure and go completely off track. Our goal is to get pregnant and right now my only focus is to find tips and remedies to help me go through this long and painful period 🙂 Slowly but surely I will get there.

Do write to me if you know any more remedies or things you do when you are on your period or to cure PCOS and help you with your TTC journey.

Also, please feel free to leave a link to your blog so I can read your journey too. I’d love to know more and learn from people.

Note : I am not a professional. Just someone going through the process of TTC and constantly researching to see what will/won’t work for my body and documenting it as I go.

Much love and strength to you.

 

Leave a Reply

